Domains are the unique web address of your website in the online world. This online domain in Australia is used to communicate with computers as the internet comprises interconnected computer networks using cables. Computers communicate through IP addresses like 12.18.998.23.1.

However, before investing in a domain or finding a reliable Domain Hosting in Australia, you should have to know the different types of domain names.

Knowing the various types of domain names will help you to navigate.

So, in this article, let us understand the several types of domains.

What are the 5 Different Types of Domains?

1. Top-Level Domains (TLDs)

  • It refers to the suffix at the end of a web address
  • IANA/ICANN manages them.
  • To register some of the TLDs you have to fulfil specific requirements for registration.
  • Here are some of the the examples of the Top-Level Domains (TLDs) are:
Domain Extension Purpose
.com Commercial businesses
.org Nonprofit organisations
.gov Government agencies
.edu Educational institutions
.net Network technology organisations
.mil Military organisations
.int Intergovernmental organisations
.info Informational websites and resources
.biz Business or commercial use

2. Country-code TLDs (ccTLDs)

  • Two-letter domain extensions representing specific countries or territories.
  • Originally for residents of that country, but some allow outside registration.
  • Some countries may have specific eligibility requirements for registration.
  • Here are some of the the examples of the Country-code TLDs (ccTLDs) are:
ccTLD Country
.us United States
.fr France
.eu European Union
.au Australia
.ca Canada
.ie Ireland
.uk United Kingdom
.za South Africa
.pl Poland

3. New gTLDs

  • These are the general domain extensions approved by ICANN from 2013 onwards.
  • Over 1,300 new gTLDs may become available.
  • Some companies opt for custom TLDs with their brand names.
  • Choose between a unique TLD for brand distinction or a generic TLD for familiarity.
  • Here are some of the examples of the New gTLDs are:
New gTLD Intended Purpose
.app Application-related sites
.blog Blogs and publications
.tech Technology-related sites
.design Graphic design portfolios
.music Music-related websites
.guru Experts and advice sites
.company Business and corporate sites
.restaurant Restaurants and food-related businesses
.space Astronomy and space-related content

4. Second-Level Domains (SLDs)

  • It is the main part of a domain name, like the word “abc” in
  • In this, you can use letters, numbers, and hyphens.
  • The choice of SLD often involves describing the business or website.
  • SLD contributes to brand identity and online presence.

5. Third-level domains or Subdomains

  • Subdomains are the third level of a domain’s hierarchy within a larger top-level domain.
  • They are used for directing visitors to specific sections of a website.
  • They are added in front of the root domain and separated from the domain name by a period.
  • Common Subdomain choices include:
  • Here are some of the examples of Subdomain are:
Subdomain Purpose/Content Blog related to the main website E-commerce section of the website Customer support or help centre Web application or online tool

Wrapping Up

Understanding the different types and parts of the domain names will help you choose an appropriate domain name for your website.

Remember, having the right domain name will help you to build and reinforce your brand online and help you to earn your online goals.

By lalae

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *